We all find ourselves with the tendency to align our attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors with those around us. It’s a powerful force that can take the form of overt social pressure or subtler unconscious influence. As much as we like to think of ourselves as individuals, the fact is that we’re driven to fit in, and that usually means going with the flow. I have been there.

Then something happened over the past weekend. Like bells ringing in my head, awakening me in ways I didn’t know I could. All this made me realize that I have confined myself in an egg shell and its time for me to break free, spread my wings and fly.

I have realized there is freedom in not fearing to make mistakes. Freedom in knowing there is no right or wrong path,only other paths. Freedom in choosing to listen with my heart instead of my head. Whichever path I choose from now on, I know that I do not have to walk it alone. I know I have someone to walk with me, on the same journey, searching for the same destination. Searching for happiness, for acceptance and serenity. We can find it together.

Leave a Reply

