You will begin to heal when you start to let go of regrets, forgive those who have hurt you and learn to forgive yourself. With time and courage you will be able to tell your story without pain in your heart, ache in your soul and without tears flowing down your cheek. That is when you know your healing has begun.
~Brigitte Nicole

For better part of this year I was struggling with some choices that I made in the past.  I was miserable until my best friend helped me to see that I needed to let go. I needed to forgive myself for all the unnecessary guilt, for blaming myself for my misery, for striving for unattainable perfection and turning against myself when I couldn’t meet my expectations.  I needed to forgive for closing my heart to myself and to others and for rehashing hurtful accusations others made against me.  And finally I needed to forgive myself for trying to anticipate everything that came my way. That’s when it dawned on me that at that time, I did my best with the knowledge that I had. So I learned to move on,  to open my self to new possibility and adventures.

The first step to living the life you want is leaving behind the life you don’t want. You are here for a special reason. Don’t be a prisoner of your past. Become the architect of your present and therefore your future. Learn from your regrets, but do not punish yourself with them. Live beyond your scars and focus on building the life that you truly deserve. Let today be the first day of your new life.

Always remember that in order to become the person you’re meant to be, living the amazing life you’re meant to live, sometimes you have to go through hard times. Sometimes you have to be broken down so that you can learn, grow, release and re-calibrate. When times are tough, remind yourself that what is happening to you is happening for a reason.

Ps… Thanks to the love of my life, Carol. You helped me through the toughest time in my life.

Leave a Reply

